Couleau Nord
  • visual presentation
  • detailed description
  • contact, rates, reservation
  • access to the cottage
  • walks, tours, circuits
  • restaurants
  • surroundings
  • visual presentation
  • detailed description
  • contact, rates, reservation
  • access to the cottage
  • walks, tours, circuits
  • restaurants
  • surroundings
Saint-Vincent de Pertignas church
The church stands on the site of a pre-Romanesque building.
The 12th–13th century church follows a simple, typically Romanesque plan:
nave, false transept, vaulted choir, apse with a semi-dome vault, bell tower on a cupola.
Numerous carved capitals adorn the Romanesque portal and the interior.
The church was fortified during the Hundred Years’ War (including the presence of a machicolation or watch turret on the west wall of the bell tower).

Note: Wikipedia provides a detailed description of the interior and exterior Romanesque iconography (a wealth of interesting information).

Picture
Picture

Rauzan

Rauzan retains from its long history the remains of its strategic role in a region strongly marked by the Hundred Years’ War.
The medieval village first developed around the parish church in the Romanesque period (Saint-Pierre Church).
The construction of the castle (late 13th century) attracted a large population who settled in houses clustered around the lower courtyard for protection.

Today, this bustling market town in the Entre-Deux-Mers region—midway between Libourne and La Réole—has preserved its commercial and craft activity, as well as a thriving wine industry (Cave de Rauzan).
The village is also renowned for its antiques fairs (two major events each year) and the Winter Market Flea Fair, both of which draw many professionals and include various activities.
Picture
Picture
Picture
Picture
Picture
Photo

La grotte Célestine de Rauzan

The only developed underground river in Gironde.
It was discovered by chance in 1845 when a Rauzan grocer, attempting to dig a well in his home, hired a well-digger… At a depth of 13 metres, the cave was revealed!

The site soon became a local curiosity visited by candlelight. First known as the “Cave of Torrents”, it later became “Célestine’s Cave”, named after a local woman whose bedroom visitors crossed to access the cave.

It was exploited until 1930, then closed to protect the site and fell into oblivion, though it served as a hideout for Resistance members during the Second World War.

Between 1967 and 1969, topographical explorations were carried out in the 570-metre-long cavity.
In 1995, the town proposed reopening the site to the public, but as the original access was still via Célestine’s bedroom, a new shaft was drilled.
The site opened to the public in 2002.

Guided speleology-style tours (45 minutes) cover a 250-metre route through 15 to 25 cm of water, allowing visitors to admire superb formations (stalagmites, stalactites, draperies, columns).
Picture
Picture
Visits are guided only, with reservations required (24 hours in advance).
Equipment is provided.
Warm clothing and trousers are recommended (temperature around 14°C).

Information: 05 57 84 08 69
website

Le château du Hamel
The château was built in the 14th century at the request of Raymond Guilhem de Goth, nephew of Pope Clement V, and remodelled in the 16th century by Jean de Fabas and again in the 17th century.
It is listed as a historic monument.
Picture
Picture
Website

Circuits, walks

Nearby

Jugasan
4km

Dolmen de Curton
Bellefond

​

Allée couverte de Sabatey
Blasimon
6 km

Abbaye Saint Nicolas
(chef d’œuvre de l’art roman)


Plan d’eau de Blasimon
Commanderie de Sallebruneau
8km

Créée par des Templiers en 1214
Sauveterre de Guyenne
12 km

Bastide créée en 1281 – A conservé ses 4 portes fortifiées

To the south... a possible day trip
La Réole
35km

​Un circuit pédestre fléché dans la cité médiévale
Château de Guilleragues
9km

 Demeure médiévale
Montsegur
7,5 km

​Ancienne bastide anglaise
Abbaye de Saint-Ferme
6,5km
​

Abbaye romane (ne se visite pas)
Castelmoron   d’Albret
​6,4 km

3,54 ha
Retour vers Sauveterre puis Rauzan

To the west...
La Sauve Majeure, abbey founded in 1079 by the Benedictines
19km
tél. 05 56 23 01 55

To the north...​ a possible route from Saint-Emilion (approximately 50km)
Saint-Emilion
13km


​Syndicat d’Initiative
​tél. 05 57 55 28 28
St Georges
Montagne ​
Petit Palais
Puisseguin
Saint-Magne-de-Castillon
Castillon la Bataille

​
​Ultime bataille de la Guerre de Cent Ans.

Son et Lumière en juillet et août
  • visual presentation
  • detailed description
  • contact, rates, reservation
  • access to the cottage
  • walks, tours, circuits
  • restaurants
  • surroundings